Staff Contacts

Office of Research Services

Research Services


Nancy Hayter
Assistant Vice-President, Research Services
Email: nancy.hayter@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 3859

Areas of responsibility:
• oversees ORS research processes and policies
• signs off on research funding applications and awards following review by ORS staff
• involved in major institutional applications
• liaises with Dal central units, hospital research offices and funding agencies
• undertakes institutional reporting.



Trevor Weissent
Director, Finance and Operations
Email: trevor.weissent@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 1743

Areas of responsibility:
• advises on and oversees major institutional awards on behalf of the Vice-President Research and Innovation (VPRI)
• advises on and oversees operating and discretionary fund accounts under VPRI control, including business planning, funding proposals, financial reporting, and process development
• oversees daily operation and administration of the Office of Research Services.

 


Elaine Lee-Adams
Receptionist and Administrative Assistant

Email: elaine.lee-adams@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 1848

Areas of responsibility:
• provides reception support for the Office of Research Services
• maintains ORS boardroom schedule
• provides administrative support to ORS units.

Contracts/Legal



Esther Akinkugbe 
Email: esther.akinkugbe@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 3431

Areas of responsibility:
500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.


• provides legal advice on research-related issues through liaison with the Legal Counsel Office and provides advice on policies related to research.





Sara Leslie
Contracts Support Specialist &
ORS Administrative Assistant
Email: ORSLegal@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 4564

Areas of responsibility:
• provides specialized administrative support to ORS Legal
• serves as initial contact for ORS Legal and liaises with researchers and other departments on requests and queries
• provides administrative support to ORS units.

 

Ethics (Human)



Martha Brillant
Acting Director, Research Ethics

Email: mbrillant@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 1462

Areas of responsibility:
• oversees University’s Research Ethics Boards, Research Ethics unit and manages ethics review and oversight process for research involving humans
• develops policy, procedures and educational resources
• provides ethical guidance to researchers, responds to research participant concerns and serves as principal liaison on ethics issues with external stakeholders.


Jim Karle
Manager, Research Ethics (Acting)
Email: J.Karle@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 1895

Areas of responsibility:
• advises researchers on project-related ethical issues
• prepares review letters.



Cali Goud
Ethics Support Specialist &
ORS Administrative Assistant
Email: cali.goud@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 3423

Areas of responsibility:
• serves as initial contact for inquiries and coordinates Board meetings
• facilitates the research ethics review process for initial submissions, re-submissions, amendment requests, continuing and final reports, and release of funds requests
• communicates REB decisions to researchers.

 

Grants and Contracts


David Spurrell
Manager, Grants and Contracts
Faculties of Science, Engineering, Computer Science, Architecture and Planning
Email: david.spurrell@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 1160

Areas of responsibility:
• manages Grants and Contracts Unit
• facilitates grant applications to the Tri-Agency and other Canadian funding agencies
• organizes outreach sessions and manages Dalhousie’s NSERC internal funding programs.



Christine Whitehouse (on leave)
Research Grants Facilitator
Email: christine.whitehouse@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 2872

Areas of responsibility:
• facilitates grant applications to the Tri-Agency and other Canadian funding agencies
• organizes outreach sessions and educational resources
• manages Dalhousie’s SSHRC internal funding programs.



Susan Haydt
Research Grants Facilitator 

Faculties of Dentistry, Health, Medicine (and Biomedical Engineering), Arts and Social Sciences, Law, Management
Email: susan.haydt@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 1333

Areas of responsibility:
• facilitates grants applications to the Tri-Agency and other Canadian funding agencies
• organizes outreach sessions and educational resources.



Caroline Sequeira
Research Grants Officer, Post-award
Faculties of Agriculture, Architecture and Planning, Arts and Social Sciences, Computer Science, Engineering, Law, Management and Science
Email: caroline.sequeira@dal.ca Phone: 902 494 2247

Areas of responsibility:
• authorizes the opening of research accounts
• facilitates the transfer of funds between institutions
• ensures compliance with university and agency policies and procedures.


Annie Laroche
Research Grants Officer, Post-award
Faculties of Dentistry, Health and Medicine
Email: annie.laroche@dal.ca Phone: 902 494 1039

Areas of responsibility:
• authorizes the opening of research accounts
• facilitates the transfer of funds between institutions
• ensures compliance with university and agency policies and procedures.
 



Amanda Leslie
Research Administrator (temporary)
Email: Amanda.Leslie@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 4343

Areas of responsibility:
supports the processing of grant applications and associated documentation
updates and maintains grant application statistics and reports
500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.


 


Cheryl Paris
Research Officer & Animal Care Coordinator

(Agricultural Campus)
Email: cheryl.paris@dal.ca  Phone: 902 893 2635

Areas of responsibility:
• provides post-award support for the Faculty of Agriculture (grants and contracts)
• coordinates Animal Ethics for Agricultural campus.

 


Sara Murphy
Research and Development Coordinator

(Agricultural Campus)
Email: sara.murphy@dal.ca  Phone: 902 893 6028

Areas of responsibility:
• facilitates grant applications from the Faculty of Agriculture 
• advises on funding programs and university processes and policies 
• organizes outreach events on the Agricultural campus.

Information Management


Jaq-Lin Larder
IM Database Administrator

Email: jaq-lin.larder@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 3853

Areas of responsibility:
• manages ROMEO research database and Researcher Portal
• prepares periodic and ad-hoc research funding reports
• oversees quality assurance program for ROMEO database.



Khyati Raval
Data Technician
Email: khyati.raval@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 1376

Areas of responsibility:
• provides support to Research Portal users
• compiles quality assurance reports
• inputs research data into ROMEO database.

Institutional Programs and International Research & Development (CFI, CRC, CERC, NCE, Genome etc.)



Shelley Brown
Manager, Institutional Programs

Email: shelley.brown@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 8885

Areas of responsibility:
• manages CRC, CFI, NFRF and other major institutional funding programs
• advises on funding agency and University policies and procedures
• coordinates teams for large-scale institutional applications and liaises with external consultant.



Danielle Andres
Facilitator, Institutional Programs

Email: danielle.andres@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 3036

Areas of responsibility:
• facilitates and reviews applications to Genome Canada, CFI JELF and RNS
• manages reporting to CFI and RNS.

 


Chris Wirz
Financial Administrator
Email: chris.wirz@dal.ca  Phone: 902-494-1742

Areas of responsibility:
• assists with the development of proposal budgets (international and institutional)
• provides financial oversight on Dalhousie international project accounts
• provides financial administrative support for various OVPRI/ORS accounts.

 


Cynthia Sawler
Research Administrator

Email: cynthia.sawler@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 3273

Areas of responsibility:
• facilitates CFO post-award, including Infrastructure Operating Fund (IOF)
• coordinates large-scale institutional competitions.

 


Research Administrator (Vacant)
Email: TBA  Phone: TBA

Areas of responsibility:
• supports processing of International applications and documentation