Senate

What we do

The Senate is the university's senior academic governing body

It is responsible for:

  • the approval of new programs
  • approving the granting of degrees and diplomas
  • managing the reviews of Faculties, Centres and Institutes

The Senate is also responsible for setting academic regulations 500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

 


Mailing Address:


University Secretariat - Senate 
Suite 210,
Henry Hicks Academic Administration Building
Dalhousie University
6299 South Street
PO Box 15000, Halifax, NS 
Canada  B3H 4R2

E-mail: senate@dal.ca
Tel:  902-494-3715

Map showing University Secretariat location on Studley campus (Building C300).

Officers of Senate:

Chair of Senate Kevin Hewitt
kevin.hewitt@dal.ca
Tel. 902-494-2315
Senate Vice-Chair (Student Affairs) Maria Pacurar
vcsa@dal.ca
Tel. 902-494-3928
Interim Senate Vice-Chair (Academic Programs)   Louise Spiteri
louise.spiteri@dal.ca
Tel. 902-494-2473

Staff:

Secretary of Senate

Susan Brousseau
susan.brousseau@dal.ca
902-494-1598

Associate Secretary of Senate & Manager, Secretariat Operations Judith Ng'ethe
judith.ng'ethe@dal.ca
902-494-3715
Manager, Discipline & Appeals Robert (Bob) Mann
bob.mann@dal.ca
902-494-7619

Interim Senate Coordinator, 
Senate & Senate Committees

Ann Pyne
ann.pyne@dal.ca
902-494-6564

Coordinator, Discipline & Appeals

Kara Miller
kara.miller@dal.ca
902-494-8097